Posted by: vaderlam1991 | October 19, 2011

Portfolio ELPPD Vader Lam

Assignment 8: portfolio reflection

Part A:

‘In Halloween, I went to the club in Brighton with my friend, especially my first time going to clubbing in Britain. I really enjoyed that night. Everyone dressed the customs and it was  atmospheric. I had the deep impression from that night.’

‘It was my first time to travel somewhere else in England, Steyning. Everything is nice in there as the pub in Hope Inn. We took around 2 hours on bus to be there. And we had a good time with my classmates.’

‘In the Thanksgiving day, my flatmates made a meal for us, it had turkey, mash potato and pasta. The meal was delicious. It was my first time having the meal like that. I am thankful for them.’

Part B:

This is one of favourite in those pictures. It was the Halloween party in the picture and people tried to scare each other. Most of people are dressing up on that day. Everyone were happy and it was atmospheric because people are all having fun on that day.

Assignment seven:


Part one:

Thanksgiving Day is a secular holiday celebrated primarily in the United States and Canada. It is celebrated on the fourth Thursday of November in the America. The traditional Thanksgiving called as harvest festivals. It is the days of thanking God for plentiful crops. Pilgrims started the Thanksgiving in 1621, which later became a tradition for the entire nation. Thanksgiving in the United States and Canada is a large meal, generally centered on a large roasted turkey. Every celebration is accompanied by some customs. Similarly, Thanksgiving Day has its own sets of traditions, for example, gobbling Turkey, enjoying the lavishing parade or making a wish. Thanksgiving is not just the festival of America but there is more to it than it being called just a Harvest Festival. It means the greatest happiness in life so it is always right to thank all those who have been responsible for what we are today. Also, Thanksgiving is the festival of remembering people who sacrificed their lives for our well being. Black Friday is the day following Thanksgiving Day in the United States. On this day, most major retailers open extremely early, often at four in the morning, and offer promotional sales to kick off the shopping season. Black Friday is not actually a holiday for most people.

Part two:

Giving thanks

A person-              

The person who I am thankful is one of my best friends and she names Grace. I met her after my high school in Hong Kong. My first impression of her is cool and she is a special person that I never met before. She does not like to talk with the stranger or the person who is not really close with her. I have a good friendship with her. And one thing I know about her that she experienced a lot in her childhood. The major reason that I am thankful for her because she tough me the life lesson. Because of her broken family, she usually works independence then I could learn from her. We shared anything with each others, so I am thankful for this friend.

A thing-

The thing I am really thankful that is my parent sent me to Canada for two years high school.  Study overseas obviously spend lots of money and I am thankful the great opportunity to go to Canada. Actually, I don’t really like this country but I still experienced and learned thing. I started making my study plan, how to be independence and first time to travel by myself. Certainly, I met lots of my friend there. I am becoming more mature and act as an adult. Even I prefer the life in Hong Kong rather than in Canada, I am still thankful for this chance.

An experience- 

The experience I am thankful for studying in university especially University of Sussex in England. I am having a good time here now. I met some Chinese and British friends in my flat and class. My flat mates are all from Britain and I usually having fun with them. As I known, the university’s life is free and independence, so that is the great opportunity for me to plan thing. And I am thankful for this experience.

Part three:

On Friday, its one of falt mates Name Day(Greek) and we celebrated thankgiving together. We had a wonderful meal on that day. It included turkey, mash potato, vegetable curry, bean and pasta. Actually, my flat mates made me the meal and we started at nine o’clock in the night. Also, One thing I am suprise that everyone to dress formal on that day. Lastly, I had the wonderful time on that night.

Assignment six:

Clock Tower, Steyning

The pub in The Hope Inn

Newhaven(the port)

Inside the bus:

New Haven

Newhaven is a town in the Lewes District of East Sussex in Britain. It lies at the mouth of the River Ouse and on the English Channel coast. From the port of Newhaven international ferries run to the French ports.


Steyning is a small town and civil parish in the Horsham District of West Sussex, Britain. It is the model town in England and it is located at the north end of the River Adur gap in the South Downs. The smaller villages of Bramber and Upper Beeding constitute, with Steyning, a built-up area at this crossing-point of the river. Steyning has four pubs, an Indian restaurant and a wine bar. The nightlife in Steyning is colorful.


an older passenger-woman

How often she does-everyday

what reason-killing time,travelling and meet friends

where-Newhaven to Seaford

the best and the worst-enjoy the view and crowded

The one younger passenger(boy)

How often they do it-couple time a week

What reason-shopping in Brighton

Where-Newhaven to Brighton

Best and worst-cheaper and long time to travel

Assignment five:

Part one:

Perfert Coincidences in poker

In 1858, Robert Fallon was shot dead, an act of vengeance by those with whom he was playing poker.

Fallon, they claimed, had won the $600 pot through cheating. With Fallon’s seat empty and none of the

 other players willing to take the now-unlucky $600, they found a new player to take Fallon’s place and

 staked him with the dead man’s $600. By the time the police had arrived to investigate the killing, the

 new player had turned the $600 into $2,200 in winnings. The police demanded the original $600 to pass

 on to Fallon’s next of kin – only to discover that the new player turned out to be Fallon’s son, who had

not seen his father in seven years.


Part two:

Name: Hamza

A man was riding a moped in Bermuda and he was accidentally struck and killed by a taxi.

One year later, the brother of this man was killed in the very same way. In fact, he was riding

 the very same moped. And to stretch the odds even further, he was struck by the very same

 taxi driven by the same driver and even carrying the very same passenger.

Assignment 4

Part A

Who was Guy Fawkes?

Guy Fawkes was born in 13 April 1570 and also known as Guido Fawkes. Guy Fawkes adopted while fighting for the Spanish in the Low Ceuntry.  He belonged to a group of provincial English Catholics who planned the failed Gunpowder Plot of 1605

What was the ‘gunpowder plot’?

Gunpowder Plot occurred in 1605, it created by a group of desperate rural England and the British Catholic extremists. They tried to blow up the Houses of Parliament, and they tried to kill one of the Congress at the opening ceremony of the British King James I and his family and most of the Protestant nobility

Did it succeed?

No, it didnt succeed

Why?/Why not?

Because someone feared members of the Catholic Church of being killed.  and he gave to the Members of the Catholic Lord Monteagle Montreal Ignatius the secret communication about Gunpowder Plot

What happened to Guy Fawkes afterwards?

Guy Fawkes was executed in the trial

What famous event takes place every year to remember Guy Fawkes?

In November 5 every year, there are Bonfire Night or Guy Fawkes Night fireworks night to celebrate the conspiracy was crushed

Part B

I went to the event (Bonfire Night) on Friday Noverber 5 with my friends. they are a lot of light huge bonfires, and firework displayed. It lets off magnificent fireworks on the sky. Some of people brought the mask and burn an effigy as a scarecrow. And everyone celebrated on that day.

Assignment 3

Part A:

Day of the dead in Mexico


Day of the Dead, as Halloween.  At that time, family and friends get together for family and friends has died praying. In Mexico, Day of the Dead is an important holiday. Celebration time for November 1 and 2, Halloween and All Souls’ Day. The traditional way to build a private memorial altar, put sugar skull, marigold and the deceased during his lifetime love of food, and bring these items to the cemetery and pay homage to the dead.
Part B (In town):
In the Halloween, I went out to the town with my friends. My friends did dress up but i didn’t. We went to the bar and had some drinks. I saw there are lots of peopele dressing up at that night. I took some pictures on the special customs and I bought some candy. It was a really good night and I came back around one in the morning.

Assignment 2

Autumn is a period of cool people, basking in the warm but not hot in the sun. people breathe fresh air and feel as atmosphere of the paradise. It makes me looking forward to Autumn of the inspiration. It seems that artists find inspiration in Autumn.

A picture in Hong Kong Autumn

In this picture, Hong Kong is no longer so hot and humid, and people indirectly feel the coming of Autumn. I can breathe the fresh air and enjoy the cool weather in Autumn. That is the reason that I chose it. Temporarily, I can get away from the heat of Hong Kong.

Autumn in England

Looked from the picture, it shows the endless rural scenery, golden leaves and the British building. The reason I has chosen this picture because it is giving me a mysterious and romantic feeling. It has the colorful landscape everywhere.

Assignment one:

Part 1:

English Springer Spaniel

The English springer spaniel is a breed of gun dog. This dog used for hunting and retrieving game. It is an excitable breed. Also, their average lives are twelve to fourteen years old.

Border Collie

Also known as the Scottish Collie, is a native to Scotland and England along the border shepherd, the main assist farm grazing, so called “shepherd.” Border Collie with energetic movement and easy to learn acrobatics known, and is considered the most intelligent scholars dog.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

